Starting dates & application deadlines
Entire 2-year course starts on:
  23 September 2013
Application deadline:
  31 August 2013

Thematic Areas 1 and 3 start on:
  23 September 2013
Application deadline:
  31 August 2013

Thematic Areas 2 and 4 start on:
  February 2014
Application deadline:
  31 August 2013

Read more & apply now...


Demo session


Course flyer
Get the course flyer.


The Educate! Project
Learn more about the Educate! Project


  Home > Universities > N.T. University of Athens


NTUA logo National Technical University of Athens (NTUA)

Regional Centre

Ms. Sandra Baki
National Technical University of Athens
Department of Water Resources and Environment
Postgraduate Course in Water Resources and Environmental Management
5 Iroon Polytechniou,
15780 Zografou, Athens

tel: +30 210 772 2860


School of Civil Engineering (Department of Water Resources and Environmental Engineering)

The School of Civil Engineering is the oldest and largest School of the National Technical University of Athens (NTUA) and one of the most prestigious engineering schools in SE Europe . NTUA is the oldest technological university in Greece and was founded in 1837. The Department of Water Resources and Environmental Engineering is one of the five departments of the School of Civil Engineering .

The Department of Water Resources and Environment was established in 1982 according to the Higher Education Act 1268/82. The main scientific areas dealt with by the Department relate to both the qualitative and quantitative aspects of the aquatic environment and the related civil engineering works. The permanent staff of the Department consists of 23 faculty members, 7 members of the assistant academic staff and administrative and technical staff. About 50 scientists work in the Department as research assistants and doctoral or post-doctoral researchers.

The academic staff of the Department teach a total of 27 courses of the Civil Engineering curriculum, some of which are addressed to all the students of the School and others to those who follow the Hydraulic Engineering option. In addition since September 1998 the Department operates an Inter-Departmental Programme of Post-graduate Studies (IPPS) in Water Resources Science and Technology (WRST). The IPPS programme offers 32 compulsory or elective courses divided into three streams (A: Hydrology and Environmental Water Resources Management, B: Water Quality and Environmental Technology, C: Environmental and Coastal Hydraulics). The Department is a major partner in transnational water resources planning and management in the Balkans and thus is in the position to provide the students with an excellent overview of both the real world problems and the state-of-art in addressing them.


School of Chemical Engineering (Environmental and Energy Management Research Unit)

The School of Chemical Engineering has 85 faculty members and about 1200 students. The Environmental and Energy Management Research Unit (EEMRU) is an educational and research unit, which at present includes 2 faculty members and 8 post-graduate researchers. The main research areas of interest to the Unit are water resources management, with emphasis on water stressed areas, environmental policy formulation and analysis of energy systems. The group is also responsible for courses covering a wide spectrum of subjects at both undergraduate and postgraduate level, which are supported through specifically tailor-made web material.

In terms of trans-national co-operation the Unit has successfully co-ordinated or participated in a considerable number of projects in co-operation with European and Mediterranean Countries, such as Mitigation of Water Stress through new Approaches to Integrating Management, Developing Strategies for Regulating and Managing Water Resources and Demand in Water Deficient Regions and Improving Competitiveness of SMEs through IT-based Environmental Business Planning At present, the EEMRU also coordinates and is responsible for the development of a web-based platform for supporting an MSc Programme in the Mansoura University (Egypt) in collaboration with the University of Abertay Dundee (Scotland). The educational project, under the title "MSc Programme in Environmental Management, Engineering and Technology (EnvMed)" is funded by the European Commission, Directorate General Education and Culture in the framework of the TEMPUS Programme.



printer friendly version

Home | Course | Procedures | Universities | Contact | Sitemap

© 2007 - EDUCATE! - A Postgraduate Course in Water Resources and Environmental Management    -    Contact the Webmaster